Parasite Rex by Carl Zimmer

February 10, 2008 at 6:37 pm Leave a comment

This is not a book I would’ve chosen myself. I do enjoy reading nonfiction and this year my book group is focusing on nonfiction titles. This was the February pick.

The subtitle of this book is: inside the bizarre world of nature’s most dangerous creatures.

It took me about 2 weeks to get through this, as I wasn’t interested in reading it and the first part put me off. But then it got to sex (doesn’t a little sex make everything more interesting?!). And how parasites might be responsible for sex. Basically after it got through the boring scientific stuff and on to the more interesting aspects of parasites the book picked up. For example, scientists believe Crohn’s Disease began because of the absence of intestinal worms.

So I found the last two chapters to be most interesting. Not sure if I would recommend the title to others though.

Entry filed under: Book Group, Nonfiction. Tags: , , .

Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues by Blaize Clement There’s No Place Like Here by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

