Kiss me, Kill me by Lauren Henderson

April 3, 2008 at 8:31 pm Leave a comment

This was my YA read for the week. I’ve been traveling for work so not much time for reading lately. I picked this slim book to keep me occupied, and was actually quite disappointed. This was billed as a mystery. Set in Britain. Immediately after 16 year old Scarlett’s first kiss, the object of her affection, Dan, mysteriously falls to the floor and dies. Scarlett must transfer out of her posh girls school, to the school her grandmother runs. A mysterious note (which I found implausible) spurs Scarlett to investigate Dan’s death. And right when she discovers an important clue, the novel ends (at 260 pages). Did the publisher forget the last 40 pages? Or is Ms. Henderson writing a series and wants to keep readers riveted? Either way I was incredibly disappointed with this novel. I wasn’t vested enough in Scarlett, (although I was interested in a secondary character and wanted to know more) and I found the mystery element to be completely lacking and not engaging or plausible.

So it’s been awhile since I read a dud. I guess it was time. Perhaps now I need to create a not recommended category?

Entry filed under: Not Recommended, Young Adult. Tags: , , .

Marley and Me by John Grogan This is how it happened by Jo Barrett

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

