Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

June 29, 2008 at 3:45 pm 2 comments

I listened to this, instead of reading it. Audiobooks provide such a different experience than reading and I really enjoy the different perspective. This story was so good that I had to bring the CDs in and listen all afternoon as I cleaned house because I wanted to know how the story was going to end and what would happen next.

Josie, at 27, lives at home and caters to her mother. Then one day Della Lee Baker appears in her closet, determined to live there until she escapes the trouble she’s in. Della Lee starts offering Josie advice, and soon Josie once closed world opens up. This is a magical tale where the color red has magical properties, candy provides comfort and books magically appear.

I think this is a new favorite of mine. It’s not your typical romance. It’s about family secrets, finding your true self, love and friendship. Delicious as the candy that titles each chapter!

Entry filed under: Chick Lit, Fiction, Recommended. Tags: , , .

Beach House by Jane Green Wicked Game by Jeri Smith-Ready

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brett  |  June 29, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    I’ve been enjoying an audio book while I drive – I still like to read a book directly because there’s nothing like getting drawn into a book to the point that I don’t want to put it down. (the old ‘one more chapter, I swear’ situation at 3am)

    I’ve been enjoying Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand – any comments on Rand?

    Reply
  • 2. Reader Girl  |  July 6, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Haven’t read Rand so I can’t comment. Sugar Queen was an audio book I couldn’t put down. I had to bring it in the house and put on the stereo because I couldn’t wait to finish it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

