Late Night Talking by Leslie Schnur

July 4, 2008 at 11:45 am 1 comment

I enjoyed the author’s first book, The Dog Walker, and so when I saw this on the shelf at the library I pulled it off.

Jeannie Sterling is the host of a light night New York City talk show about ethical behavior. Then her long absent father shows up, the friend she’s loved for years finally wants to be with her, and her best friend is acting hinky. Then her radio station is bought by mogul Nicholas Moss and her career descends into chaos as well.

This was an interesting read due to the way it’s written. There are short chapters (with great titles) and transcripts from Jeannie’s radio show. The viewpoint switches a lot and sometimes it’s hard to tell where you are until the second paragraph. I didn’t feel completely vested in Jeannie (In fact in my head I referred to her as Jennie) and I kept waiting for the big plot moment. And when it came I was a tad disappointed. I didn’t believe it.

However, I didn’t hate this book. I guess I feel indifferent. It was ok. I’m sure some people really liked it. Sort of smart people’s chick lit with a little family drama and friendship thrown in.

edited to add: I forgot until I re-read the author’s comment that a part I did enjoy was the ethical dilemna of not returning library books. That was a great part. I should make a list of books that have great librarian/library sub-plots. And yes, I did return my library book!

Entry filed under: Chick Lit, Fiction. Tags: , , , .

When Good People Have Affairs by Mira Kirshenbaum sTori Telling by Tori Spelling

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Leslie Schnur  |  July 5, 2008 at 7:13 am

    I just hope you returned your library book! Thanks for reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

