sTori Telling by Tori Spelling

July 4, 2008 at 11:54 am Leave a comment

I confess. I’m a fan of Tori Spelling. I was a huge fan of 90210 (oh Dylan) and now my guilty pleasure is Tori’s reality show, Tori and Dean: Inn Loveon Oxygen. So of course I wanted to read her autobiography. And I was not disappointed. It’s short (276 pages with acknowledgements) but covers her childhood, the alleged feud with her mom, her first marriage, her relationship with Dean, basically it’s her side of everything we’ve seen play out in the tabloids for the past 3 years.

Her writing style is direct, she doesn’t pull any punches and it rings true to me. Also I totally appreciate how she didn’t just name drop the entire time. And I appreciated her candor about money. I would’ve liked to hear more about how she feels about “her gays” and being a cult figure in the gay world. Her brother Randy is conspicuously absent. This isn’t a trashy tell-all. This her really her side of the story, focused primarily on the past 5 or so years. When talking about her relationship with Dean McDermott, (who was married when they met & fell in love) she says nothing negative about why his marriage broke up/wasn’t working/the custody battle basically nothing negative about his ex-wife. And I totally respect her for that. As she says, it’s not her story to tell.

All in all this book just made me like Tori more and confirmed what I’ve thought for awhile – she’s smarter than everyone gives her credit for.

Entry filed under: Biography, Nonfiction. Tags: , , , .

Late Night Talking by Leslie Schnur What Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynn

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

