The Five Languages of Love by Gary Chapman

August 19, 2008 at 8:59 am 1 comment

Subtitle: How to express heartfelt commitment to your mate.

I’ve heard about this book for awhile now, and it was first published in 1992. It’s a quick interesting look at what it means to love and be loved. I did the personal assessment and once I found out what love langage I speak I could totally see why certain things mean so much to me.

At only 191 pages this is an interesting way to look at relating to your signicant other. Also, the author dispels the myths surrounding that in-love feeling. I would recommend it to any couple.

Entry filed under: Nonfiction, Recommended, Self Help. Tags: , .

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen Nantucket Nights by Elin Hilderbrand

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. psychcentral  |  August 19, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I have a copy of this on my bookshelf and have found myself referring to it many times. Although the ideas are somewhat simple in that the languages can’t cover all of the complexities of people’s needs and wants, there’s an awful lot of truth in it.

    For instance, I’m a word person and enjoy affirmations whereas my husband is more of a service person. I FINALLY realized this after several years of marriage, and it made a huge difference in expectations. Now, if he forgets to whisper sweet nothings, I cut him some slack because he’s busy repainting a room, cutting grass, or performing some other “service.” When he seems a little immune to the effect of words or affirmations, I remember his language and then cook his favorite dessert or something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

