Candy Apple Red by Nancy Bush

September 28, 2008 at 3:15 pm Leave a comment

This is the first in the Jane Kelly mystery series and since it was set outside of Portland, Oregon I thought I’d check it out. Plus the cover blurb says it’s for people who like Stephanie Plum.

Jane Kelly lives in Lake Chinook, Oregon were she is a process server and does some side work for a P.I. Bobby Reynolds murdered his young family and has been missing the past 4 years. Jane is hired to speak with Bobby’s father and discover if he knows where Bobby is. Plus her ex-boyfriend’s back in town (who just happens to be Bobby’s childhood best friend) and Jane’s mom has arranged for her to take in a distant relative pug named Binky.

I have mixed feelings on this one. It was ok. The setting confused me. Lake Chinook sounded sorta like Lake Oswego (a Portland suburb & where the author lives) but with her descriptions and mix of real and fake places and street names I just couldn’t place it in context, which bugged me. Also the plot was complicated and I had trouble keeping the numerous secondary characters straight. Plus I did know who had done it before it was revealed and that always bugs me. However, it was a first novel and I would be tempted to read the second book in the series.

Entry filed under: Mystery Series. Tags: , , , .

100th Post & introducing “Classic Craves” Classic Crave: Multiple Choice by Claire Cook

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

