An Anthropologist on Mars by Oliver Sacks

November 11, 2008 at 8:34 am Leave a comment

Subtitled: seven paradoxical tales.

This was my book group pick. Our last of 2008 (we take December off). A little heavy for the final book of the year, but I’ve always wanted to read something by Oliver Sacks (the doctor from Awakenings). I also wanted to read about autism or Temple Grandin. One of the “tales” in the book focuses on Temple, another focuses on prodigies and autism. The other five focus on neurological disorders related to vision.

The first tale, “The Case of the Colorblind Painter” is highly technical and if I were the editor for this book, I would not have placed it first as it almost turned me off the book. However, the rest of the tales are quite interesting and the language is in more layman’s terms. Another thing I disliked were all the footnotes, but I found it easy to skip over those without losing the story or feeling as though I was missing something.

All in all I’m glad I read this. It was interesting and not something I probably would’ve picked up on my own.

Entry filed under: Book Group, Nonfiction. Tags: , , .

Classic Crave: Bread Alone by Judith Ryan Hendricks Classic Crave: Vegan Virgin Valentine by Carolyn Macker

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

