Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani

February 6, 2009 at 8:29 am Leave a comment

I loved the Big Stone Gap Trilogy (and really I consider it a trilogy and have decided to ignore she even wrote a fourth book because I thought it was awful and not the way I imagined Ave Maria ending up.) Anyway, I was so excited to learn Ms. Trigiani was writing another trilogy and the first entry, Very Valentine, was quite enjoyable.

Valentine is an apprentice in her family’s custom made shoe shop. They’ve been making wedding shoes since 1903. However, in these modern times the business isn’t profitable. Will Valentine save the business? Will she find love with a hot Italian chef?

I liked the characters and the authors description of places in New York City. The chapters are all named after places.

My big criticism of the book was the ending. I know it’s part of a trilogy but I really didn’t feel any sense of closure and I was confused about some details towards the end. Also, I had a hard time figuring out the time line. The events of the novel take place over a year and half, but I sometimes missed those fast forwards of time. The only other thing bothering me was Valentine and Roman’s relationship – and I’ll be curious what happens in book 2.

So despite these criticism,  I will be reading the next one.

Entry filed under: Chick Lit, Fiction, romance.

Here’s Your Hat What’s Your Hurry by Elizabeth McCracken Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

