A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick

May 19, 2009 at 7:13 am Leave a comment

Set in 1909 Wisconsin, businessman Ralph Truitt wants for a train bringing him his new wife, but she is not who he thought she was.

I don’t know what to say about this. It was different than I expected. It was dark, yet hopeful. By the end I felt sympathy for Catherine. The ending surprised me. I think this is what a friend of mine would call Big L Literature.
The  obsession part threw me off a bit, and I’m not sure if I can recommend it to some of the ladies who come to the library, but I am glad I’ve read it since it seems to be generating lots of buzz.
NPR has an interesting interview with the author. Check it out.

Entry filed under: Fiction.

Bringing Elizabeth Home by Ed & Lois Smart Classic Crave: Gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading

I'm currently reading: Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand . . . Look for a review soon!

Feeds

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

